Minutes 3-17-14

Cumberland Conservation Collaborative

Meeting Notes – March 17, 2014– Cumberland Valley Visitors Bureau, Carlisle 

 

Rick Rovegno welcomed the group; self-introductions were made. Attendees are listed at the end of these minutes. Around the Room: 

 

Cumberland Valley Rails to Trails: Requested CCC endorsement of grant request to extend rail trail three miles toward Carlisle from Newville. Following discussion from the attendees, the Board voted unanimously to support. Individual organizations were urged to take the proposition up with their individual boards. 

 

  • CCWA: There have been reports of oil spillage into the Conodoguinet. The Shippensburg waste treatment plant had a spillage of PVC pellets. Yellow Breeches WA: Will have a smaller cleanup this year than in previous years. 

 

  • Audubon: An eruption of snowy owls likely caused by a bumper crop of lemmings in breeding ground. Owls in this area are being tagged with transmitters – can follow migration on web – “Operation Snowstorm”. 

 

  • Central PA Conservancy: Ironmasters open house will be 12-4 pm April 2. Anyone interested in hosting an event there, contact Anna. 

 

  • Trout Unlimited: Major chicken farm capable of a million chickens in and out every 14 weeks is in final stages of approval. Farm is in the middle of the last 6 years of stream restoration. April 4/5 Allenberry fly fishing museum open house. 

 

  • Ship Organic Garden: Partnering with middle school for help in the spring. CVATC: Getting trail cleaned up after extended snows. 

 

  • BSWA: Partnering with Newville Water Authority to remove silt from millpond – estimated at 9 feet deep. Green Spring fish hatchery has been polluted from a manure run off; 60,000 fish have been killed. Source not yet identified. 

 

Rick: Per Donna Morelli, Chesapeake WSA is ready to participate in the May 3 cleanup day. 

 

Attended South Middleton Supervisor’s meeting – they agreed to look at a Silver Spring type measure on the Fall 14 ballot. 

 

The CCC Board of Directors recommends a May 3 cleanup day – concept is to encourage as many groups as possible to hold a simultaneous clean up day. CCC will contact Boy Scout Troops and other organizations for volunteers. 

 

Discussion with respect to a May 3 Clean Cumberland Action Day: 

 

  • YBWA – Will be gathering at Allen Middle School in Monroe TWP. Need advertising not more people. Will contact Jerry to put on website. 

 

  • Shireen – will post all events on the PennDOT website. 

 

  • Stephanie will contact landfill re how to have them accept results of Action Day. 

 

  • Anna – need 30 volunteers 10 -3 pm May 3 for painting and other maintenance Herb – LeTort Authority could use 12 people on May 3 for cleanup. 

 

  • Trout Unlimited – could use 12 – 15 people May 3; will send info to Jerry. ATC – Could use 4-6 people with gloves and bags. Date not stated. 

 

  • BSWA – already have a spring and fall cleanup – can’t do May 3. Will be working April 19 this year. 

 

  • CCWA – have cleanup scheduled 3rd Saturday of each month. 

 

Discussion regarding educational role of CCC: Target group should be middle school students. We should have presentations and people ready to go. We could contact counselors and see what would be suitable and then prepare presenters – have them available on call. 

 

Discussion regarding communications: Need for Facebook page and possibly smart phone app Meeting adjourned. 

 

3/17/2014 Attendees 

 

Au Thomas Clean Air Boardthomxau@gmail.com

 

Auker Dennis Yellow Breeches WAdwalker@comcast.net

 

Edstrom Eric CV Trout Unlimited ericj400@aol.com

 

Farr Shireen CVVB shireen@visitcumberlandvalley.com

 

Ferris Bill BS Water Authoritybkferris@kuhncom.net

 

Freedman Gil CCWA gil491@verizon.net

 

Mummert Ben Central PA Conservancy mummertb@gmail.com

 

Pittman Justin CV Trout Unlimited flyfishing80@gmail.com

 

Raley Becca Part. for Better Health braley@forbetterhealthpa.org

 

Richards Susan Capital RC&D srichards@capitalrcd.org

 

Rovegno Rick CCC rlrovegno@comcast.net

 

Saintz Julia Ship. U. Organic Farm js9289@ship.edu

 

Schmidlein Bob CV Rails to Trails bobspatc@comcast.net

 

Schneider Bill CSF apache5007@aol.com

 

Tuckey Jane CV App. Trail Clu bjetkey@pa.net

 

Weigl Herb LeTort Reg. Authority herbweigl@gmail.com

 

Wilkes Jerry CCC jwilkes100@gmail.com

 

Williams Stephanie Cumb. Co. Plan Dept. sjwilliams@ccpa.net

 

Yelk Anna Central PA Conservancy ayelk@centralpaconservancy.org

 

Zeph Paul Audubon PA pzeph1@verizon.net