top of page

Meeting Notes 1-22-18


Cumberland Conservation Collaborative – General Meeting


Meeting Notes – January 22, 2018 – Cumberland Valley Visitors Bureau, Carlisle


Rick opened the meeting and initiated introductions around the table, attendees listed at bottom.


Topics Shared:

Katie Hess shared information about South Mountain’s accomplishments of the past year, future speakers for the upcoming year, and information about the Energy connector project.


Kelsey Miller shared information from DCNR about possible grant opportunities to plan riparian buffer zones and the benefits of each program.


Ben Mummert shared information about upcoming events such as the opening of the East Branch Headwaters project and the upcoming Iron Masters 50k run. The opening for the headwaters will take place on April 21st and the Iron Masters run will take place April 29th.


Anna Yelk shared information about the Iron Masters run on April 29th.


Lindsay Varner shared information about possible historical sites that need help and grant money, applications can be found at the Cumberland Valley Historical website.


Tom Au shared information about electric cars and sites to charge them and the initiatives the Clean Air Board is offering associated with those.


Gail Witwer shared information from Partnership for Better Health, about grant opportunities related to improving the health of the community.


Gil Freedman shared information from the Conodoguinet Watershed Association about their riparian project and collecting information to build new riparians in the area.


Agda Jansen shared information from The Cumberland Valley Rails to Trails and handed out a pamphlet as well as discussed plans about extending the trail in certain areas and statistics about the current trail.


Interns, Margaret Dunkelberger and Trish Newdeck, shared their tasks for the upcoming semester and asked for help from members that attended.


Rick closed the meeting and will be sending out information about the next meeting in March.



Attendees: Rick Rovegno, Margaret Dunkelberger, Bill Schneider, Dennis Auker, Frank Evelhoch, Laura Brown, Katie Hess, Kelsey Miller, Ben Mummer, Anna Yelk, Lindsay Warner, Gill Freedman, Tom Au, Trish Newdeck, Gail Witwer, and Adga Jansen.


bottom of page